A look at our partner organisation 

Despite the strong economic growth in Rwanda since the end of the Genocide in 1994, national structures that support disadvantaged children adequately are still missing. For this reason, Root Foundation Rwanda has been offering a perspective and hope for the future to 300 disadvantaged children and youth in Kigali since 2012: It facilitates their learning and personal development  and education in close cooperation with their families. – This happens through regular activities at the Children’s Center. To guarantee extensive support, Root Foundation is structured by means of 3 thematic programmes: 

Central Pillars of work

Personal development

This program includes all the informal education activities that take place at the Center on a daily basis: Music lessons, dancing, acrobatics, theatre, football...

 

Content workshops (Kids Fellowship), public demonstrations (My Talent Show) and excursions to museums take place on a regular basis.

 

The aim of the programme is to develop social competence, self-awareness and a sense of responsibility as well as promote talent.

Education

Children who regularly participate in the Root Foundation's activities and request so will be financially encouraged to participate in school education. 

 

Selection is based on criteria such as motivation, neediness, and prospects of success. The participation in the school is supervised pedagogically. Currently, 42 children and young people are being supported.

 

The aim of the programme is to enable children to shape their own future through qualifications.

Parents

Root Foundation consciously seeks to involve the immediate environment of the children in the promotion of their personal development and education.

 

A strong family network is a prerequisite for successful development. Volunteers regularly visit the children's families. They advise parents on educational issues and strengthen their awareness of the need for their children's education.

 

The aim of the programme is to strengthen the responsibility of the family.

For more information

  • RootFoundationRwanda

Target Group 

More than 300 underprivileged children and youth in Kigali benefit from the work of Root Foundation Rwanda. Siblings, parents and other family members also profit from the many pedagogical initiatives including  Parents’ Fellowships or home visits. 

KReil_RootF_RW-1236.jpg

Infobox
 

What children does the Root Foundation Rwanda care for?

 

What children does the Root Foundation Rwanda care for?

The children of Root Foundation Rwanda are mostly between the age of 6 and 18.  This includes girls as well as boys. Girls from the age of puberty are especially catered for through the Umuwaliprogram.
 

The participating children generally have a weak socio-economic background, i.e. they have neither sufficient financial means to attend school nor a strong family network (e.g. unemployment, illness, lack of education), which enabled them to participate in society. Thus, they are at risk of spending time on the street during their childhood. Many children do not have the opportunity to develop important social skills and are often negatively affected. 

 

The participating children often look for an opportunity to develop their own identity. In Root Foundation, they find a place that they do not have elsewhere. 

Documentation about Root Foundation Rwanda

Testimonials from Root Foundation children provide insights into

the difficulties of our target group and show the importance of the organisation

Ein Blick auf unsere Partnerorganisation

Trotz des starken, wirtschaftlichen Wachstums Ruandas seit dem Ende des Genozides 1994 fehlt es an nationalen Strukturen, die benachteiligten Kindern ausreichend Unterstützung anbieten. Die Root Foundation Rwanda ermöglicht daher seit 2012 über 300 benachteiligten Kindern und Jugendlichen in Ruandas Hauptstadt Kigali eine Perspektive: Sie fördert diese pädagogisch und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit ihren Familien in ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung und Schulbildung - etwa durch regelmäßige Aktivitäten im eigenen Jugendzentrum. Um eine umfassende Förderung zu sichern, ist die Root Foundation in folgenden 3 Programme gegliedert.

Zentrale Pfeiler der Arbeit

Persönlichkeits-entwicklung

Dieses Programm umfasst alle Aktivitäten der informellen Bildung, die täglich am Center stattfinden: Musikunterricht, Tanzen, Akrobatik, Theater, Fußball. 

 

Inhaltliche Workshops (Kids Fellowship), öffentliche Vor-führungen (My Talent Show) und Exkursionen in Museen finden regelmäßig statt.

 

Ziel des Programms ist die Entwicklung von

Sozialkompetenz, Selbst-wahrnehmung und Verantwortungsbewusstsein sowie die Talentförderung.

Bildung

Kinder, die regelmäßig an den Aktivitäten der Root Foundation teilnehmen und darum bitten, werden finanziell zur Teilnahme am Schulunterricht gefördert.  

 

Die Auswahl erfolgt anhand von Kriterien wie Motivation, Bedürftigkeit und Erfolgsaussicht. Die Schulteilnahme wird pädagogisch betreut. Derzeit werden 42 Kinder und Jugendliche gefördert.

 

Ziel des Programms ist die Befähigung der Kinder, durch Qualifikation selbst die Zukunft zu gestalten.

Eltern

Die Root Foundation bindet das unmittelbare Umfeld der Kinder entscheidend in die Förderung ihrer persönlichen Entwicklung und Bildung ein. 

 

Ein starkes familiäres Netz ist Grundvoraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Entwicklung. Freiwillige besuchen regelmäßig die Familien der Kinder. Sie beraten Eltern in Erziehungsfragen und stärken deren Bewusstsein in Bezug auf die Notwendigkeit der Schulbildung ihrer Kinder.

 

Ziel des Programms ist, die Verantwortung der Familie zu stärken. 

Für mehr Informationen

  • RootFoundationRwanda

Zielgruppe

Mehr als 300 unterprivilegierte Kinder und Jugendliche in Kigali profitieren von der Arbeit der Root Foundation Rwanda. Auch Geschwister, Eltern und andere Angehörige profitieren von zahlreichen pädagogischen Initiativen wie etwa Elterntreffen oder Hausbesuchen. 

KReil_RootF_RW-1236.jpg

Infobox
 

Welche Kinder betreut die Root Foundation Rwanda?
 

Welche Kinder betreut die Root Foundation Rwanda?

Die Kinder der Root Foundation Rwanda sind zumeist zwischen 6 und 18 Jahren.  Dazu gehören Mädchen wie Jungen gleichermaßen. Mädchen ab dem alter der Pubertät werden durch das Umuwali Programm besonders angesprochen. 

 

Die teilnehmenden Kinder haben zumeist einen schwachen sozio-ökonomischen Hintergrund, d.h. sie haben weder ausreichend finanzielle Mittel um etwa die Schule zu besuchen, noch ein starkes familiäres Netz (etwa: Arbeitslosigkeit, Krankheit, Ignoranz), welches ihnen gesellschaftliche Teilhabe ermöglichte. Somit besteht ein erhöhtes Risiko als Kind auf der Straße die Zeit zu verbringen. Viele Kinder haben keine Möglichkeit wichtige Sozialkompetenzen zu entwickeln, sondern werden häufig nachhaltig negativ geprägt. 

 

Oft suchen die teilnehmenden Kinder nach einer Möglichkeit, ihre eigene Identität zu entwickeln. Sie finden in der Root Foundation einen Ort, den sie woanders nicht haben. 

Dokumentation über die Root Foundation Rwanda

Testimonials von Root Foundation-Kindern geben Einblicke in

die Schwierigkeiten unserer Zielgruppe und zeigen die Bedeutung der Organisation